Vermont Conservation Voters

When you sign up to join VCV in our work, you will receive action alerts and information.


Vermont Conservation Voters Endorsement Process

In election years, Vermont Conservation Voters (VCV) endorses pro-environment candidates, and works to help elect our endorsed candidates. As a non-partisan organization, VCV has a long history of endorsing candidates from across the political spectrum who share our values.

Through its endorsements, VCV aims to educate voters across Vermont on candidates whose values and actions demonstrate a commitment to our vision and values, by advancing and defending policies that protect the environment and promote health while advancing social, racial, and economic justice; and strengthening our democracy.

To inform our endorsement process, VCV closely tracks lawmakers’ actions at the State House, including key votes on environmental bills via our Environmental Scorecard and sponsorship of legislation that advances the Environmental Common Agenda of top legislative priorities, which VCV releases each legislative session in partnership with other advocacy organizations.

For new candidates, VCV requires candidates to respond to a questionnaire that provides context on a candidate’s environmental background and positions on a range of issues facing the state. For statewide candidates, Board and staff invite candidates for an in-depth interview.

2022 VCV Endorsements

VCV will be updating this page with pro-environment candidate endorsements throughout election season. All endorsements are approved by the VCV Board of Directors in recognition of incumbent candidates with strong environmental records, as well as new candidates who submitted strong questionnaires demonstrating their support for climate action, clean water, racial justice, and other priorities.

The first set of candidate endorsements below includes only candidates with contested primary races. We will be rolling out additional candidate endorsements for the general election.

VCV Endorses:

Brenda Siegel (Governor), WINNER see press release
David Zuckerman (Lieutenant Governor), WINNER see press release; Watch video
Charity Clark (Attorney General), WINNER see press release; Watch video
Sarah Copeland Hanzas (Secretary of State), WINNER see press release; Watch video

*Phil Baruth (Chittenden Central 1), WINNER
*Tanya Vyhovsky  (Chittenden Central 1), WINNER
Erhard Mahnke (Chittenden Central 1), results unconfirmed
*Ginny Lyons (Chittenden Southeast 1), WINNER
*Kesha Ram Hinsdale (Chittenden Southeast 1), WINNER
*Andrew Perchlik (Washington 1), WINNER
*Anne Watson (Washington 1), WINNER
Jared Duval (Washington 1)
*Nader Hashim (Windham 1), WINNER

*Peter Conlon (Addison 2), WINNER
Mike Yantachka (Chittenden 5)
*Jill Krowinski (Chittenden 16), WINNER
Ryan Addario (Chittenden 16)
*Conor Casey (Washington 4), WINNER
*Marc Mihaly (Washington 6), WINNER
*John Bartholomew (Windsor 1), WINNER
*Coach Christie (Windsor 6), WINNER
*Jim Masland (Windsor Orange 2), WINNER

Remember, to learn more about candidates in your local races, check out the Environmental Scorecard to see how incumbent legislators voted on key issues.

Endorsements from Previous Years:

2020 VCV Statewide and Legislative Endorsements

2018 VCV Statewide and Legislative Endorsements

2016 VCV Statewide and Legislative Endorsements

2014 VCV Legislative Endorsements

2012 VTLCV Legislative Endorsements

2010 VTLCV Legislative Endorsements